What a treat!

December 13, 2010

So much of what I write about these days is about holding back, practicing restraint and staying motivated.  But every now and then I do indulge, and when I do, I plan for it.  By consistently eating a balanced diet, exercising and getting proper rest, I earn the occasional free-for-all and enjoy every last bite!  I don’t worry about gaining an ounce because I just hop right back on the wagon when reality hits.

I escaped to Montreal this past weekend with one of my best friends for a little gluttonous girls’ weekend.  For the past 6 weeks, I planned my workouts and food log accordingly and used this trip as my ‘carrot’ to stay on-track.  I limited my treats to 1/week (down from 3) and increased the intensity of my workouts.  I knew croissants, cappuccinos and decadent desserts would be calling my name. It was so much fun to let go and indulge!

It wasn’t all insanity, however.  My friend is as athletic as I, so we strolled the streets and planned a hotel workout, hitting the major muscles of the body and enjoying every minute.  I think we burned more calories with our flapping jaws than anything else but movement helped get us through the next meal of fois gras and steak frites.

Now that I’m back to reality, it’s back on the clean-eating wagon.  My next reward comes in two months when my husband and I take off to the beaches of  Southeast Asia.  I’m hanging up my teeny bikini where I can see it for extra motivation!   Eggnog can wait:  I’ll be sipping Mai Thais on the beach in no time!

Leave a Reply

