The Skinny.

February 17, 2011

Women’s obsession with obtaining a stick-thin body in our society makes me cringe.  Since I live in the pressure-cooker that is New York City, I train many overachievers.  My least favorite question goes along the lines of, “how can I tone up without getting too bulky?”

They say this with a straight face.  Seriously.  I take a deep breath.

It’s pretty tough for women to gain muscle mass:  our bodies only produce small amounts of testosterone.  Testosterone not only assists in good health and well-being maintenance, but helps to prevent osteoporosis!  Some guys even have trouble putting on muscle and keeping it!  With years of discipline, dedication, supplementation and consistency a man (or a woman…hopefully me) can pack on those big guns.

Additionally, it would take a lot of protein supplements, daily strength & hypertrophy workouts to build the kind of “bulky muscle” these skinny chicks fear so greatly.  Most women in NYC eat like birds.  They couldn’t POSSIBLY bulk up, no matter how hard they try!

All that said, muscle is the body’s metabolism.  The more we have on our bodies, the more calories it takes to maintain, the more food we get to eat!  What’s up with these women?!  Gisele was born that way!  I prefer the curves of Jennifer Lopez, the shoulders of Michelle Obama and the hard body of my friend Kinga.  The ‘don’t mess with me or I’ll come after you’ look.  With a smile.

Leave a Reply

