Seared Tuna w/ Pineapple Salsa!

April 23, 2011

Sushi and I haven’t made friends.  I went through a phase where I believed that if I ate enough of it, I’d acquire a taste and therefore, be cool like the rest of my sushi-addicted friends.  Until I got food poisoning from the stuff.  Now, I wanna gag every time I pass a sushi counter at Whole Foods, or anywhere I smell seaweed & horseradish.  Gross!  In fact, my repulsion went so far that if someone so much as put less-than-100%-cooked fish in front of me, I nearly gagged.

A few months ago, I had a lunch meeting with a client.  He ordered a tuna appetizer that sounded good, so I ordered it, too!  Turns out it was seared tuna.  Red inside.  Always wanting to please and not cause a scene, I ate every last bite…and to my surprise, it was SO GOOD!

So, I share with you my new favorite recipe:

Skoog’s Seared Tuna with Pineapple Salsa

2 (4-6 oz) tuna steaks (3/4 inch thick)
salt & pepper
1 Tbsp canola oil

For the salsa:
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
1/4 red onion, diced
1/4 fresh pineapple, diced
1/2 tsp jalapeno pepper, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tbsp cilantro, chopped
1 tsp lime juice
salt, pepper to taste 

Combine all salsa ingredients in a medium bowl.  Set aside. Season each tuna steak with salt & pepper.  Heat canola oil in a large nonstick saute pan over high heat until hot.  Cook each tuna steak for 2 minutes, or until golden brown.  Turn over and continue cooking for 1-2 minutes for rare to medium-rare.  Tuna will be red in the center.

For more fun, serve with a dash of black beans & brown rice…hello, fiber!

Leave a Reply

