She flies through the air with the greatest of ease!

July 28, 2011

I spent last summer in wedding-planning purgatory: obsessing about seating charts, money and flowers. While it was satisfying at the time, I was stressed out. For me, summer is a time to take a deep breath and relax a little. This summer, my husband and I are trying new things: we’ve booked golf lessons, whitewater rafting, hiking in Utah and, naturally, flying trapeze!

Yesterday was my very first lesson and I cannot tell you how nervous/excited I was. Trapeze School New York has several locations and we chose the one ON TOP OF A BUILDING on the river. So.  Not only are you already 3 stories above the ground, but you’re hanging from a rope flying above the city. Not a comfortable feeling, lemmetellya.

During my first rickety ladder climb, each rung felt like a death wish.  Turns out my fear of heights is alive and well, but it was clearly too late to back down, since the next student was directly behind me.

If you can get over all those trust issues, turn off your mind and listen to the instructor, it turns out that Trapeze is quite easy…haha? Better said than done. The initial setup was the most nerve-wracking 3 minutes of my life, but once I was sailing through the air, the rush was beyond amazing.

I have a new addiction.

Leave a Reply

