Don’t buy it!

May 20, 2012

I’m a Sunday NYTimes junkie. Today, a one-sentence book review of Karen Le Billon’s “French Kids Eat Everything“, read:

Why you shouldn’t cater to your kids’ taste in food but rather let them rise to your level.

My sentiments, exactly.

As a pre-and-postnatal fitness guru, my clientele is chock-full of mothers. Most of these women have law degrees, PhD’s, and years of executive work experience. Let’s just say they are accomplished professionally as they are, now, personally. Self-sacrifice, managing crises, saying no to powerful bigwigs and working through the night is nothing new to them! Most have always been health nuts and gym junkies, working out at 6am and having self-discipline to order a salad at lunch.

So why is it, that, when children enter the picture, self-control goes out the window? I’m not a parent (so I’ll probably get skewered for this post) but if Pepperidge Farm goldfish crackers weren’t a staple before baby, how did they make their way from supermarket to my client’s cupboard? If I stuff my shelves with mini-oreos, fruit snacks, teddy grahams and juice boxes, I’d have a tougher time managing my weight, too!

All this processed food isn’t good for anyone – parents OR children alike. It’s a good way to spoil everyone’s appetite and make picky eaters out of a developing palate. My advice? Continue healthy eating eating and extend these habits to your children: if they’ve never tasted cap’n crunch, sugar bombs or pringles, how will they miss it?

 

Are you on facebook? “Like” my facebook fanpage for daily and weekly inspiration or follow me on twitter @skoogfit. Stay on track!

Leave a Reply

