Dinner tonight!

June 13, 2012

One of our staple restaurants is a farm-to-table, organic & local neighborhood spot. I try to order something different when I go, but my palate sucks me right back into the same thing, time after time. Last weekend, my husband and I went upstate to visit dear friends. Guess what they made for lunch? Another version of my favorite restaurant dish!

For dinner last night, I recreated my own version. You should, too.

Skoog’s Rice Bowl

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 zucchini, sliced & cubed
  • 1/4 red onion, sliced & cubed
  • 1 cup broccoli florets, cut small
  • 1/2 cup red cabbage, cubed
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • drizzle olive oil

Brown rice takes approximately 45 minutes to cook. When there are 15 minutes left on the timer, chop and combine all vegetables in a big serving bowl. When rice is done, mix raw vegetables with fresh, hot rice. Season with sea salt and cracked pepper, drizzle with a tablespoon or so of extra virgin olive oil. Top with your favorite protein, like grilled shrimp, chicken breast or salmon. You can actually add anything, from cashews, peanuts, water chestnuts or your favorite fruit, like pineapple, dried cranberries or raisin. YUM!

Leave a Reply

